

NEWFOUNDLAND AND LABRADOR BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF PUBLIC UTILITIES

120 Torbay Road, P.O. Box 21040, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada, A1A 5B2

E-mail: gyoung@nlh.nl.ca

2014-11-21

Mr. Geoffrey Young Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro P.O. Box 12400 St. John's, NL A1B 4K7

Dear Mr. Young:

Re: Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro – 2013 Amended General Rate Application - Process

The Board acknowledges receipt of Hydro's Amended 2013 General Rate Application, filed with the Board on November 10, 2014.

In order to publish notice of this Application and to set a schedule for the proceeding it is necessary that a complete application be filed with the Board. The Board notes that there are a number of items yet to be filed in the Amended 2013 General Rate Application. These include amendments to Order in Council 2013-089 and 2013-091 to revoke or amend the requirement for a 2013 test year; revised responses to Requests for Information required to provide data and information updated with the Amended filing; and a 2014 Test Year Cost of Service.

The Board also notes that in the Application Hydro has requested approval of the amortization and recovery of various 2014 expenditures. In order to deal with the accounting issues related to the 2014 fiscal year it is anticipated that Hydro intends to set up deferral accounts for these 2014 expenditures and that these accounts will be required before the closing of accounts for the 2014 fiscal year.

The Board requests that Hydro provide documentation clearly outlining any approvals required prior to January 1, 2015 and prior to February 1, 2015, noting any applications that are currently on file with the Board. Any further applications required to achieve these approvals must be filed with the Board on or before November 28, 2014.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact the Board's Legal Counsel, Ms. Jacqui Glynn, by email, jgylnn@pub.nl.ca or by telephone, 709-726-6781.

Yours truly,

Cheryl Blundon
Board Secretary

/cpj

Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro Fred Cass, B-mail; fcass@airdberlis.com

Newfoundland Power Inc.
Gerard Hayes, E-mail: ghayes@newfoundlandpower.com
Liam O'Brien, E-mail: lobrien@curtisdawe.com
Consumer Advocate
Thomas Johnson, E-mail: tjohnson@odeaearle.ca
Colleen Lacey, E-mail: olaccy@odeaearle.ca
Doug Bowman, E-mail: odbowman@netzero.net

Hanu Nation
Nancy Kleer, E-mail: nkleer@oktlaw.com
Senwung Luk, E-mail: sluk@oktlaw.com

Island Industrial Customer Group
Paul Coxworthy, E-mail: pcoxworthy@stewartmokelvey.com
Dean Porter, E-mail: dporter@pa-law.ca
Yale Newfoundland and Labrador Limited
Tom O'Reilly, Q.C., E-mail: toreilly@coxandpalmer.com
Denis Fleming, E-mail: dfleming@coxandpalmer.com
Towns of Labrador City, Wabush, Happy Valley-Goose Bay
and North West River
Edward Hearn, Q.C., E-mail: miller&hearn@crrstv.net

Yvonne Jones, MP Labrador E-mail: Yvonne, Jones, C1@parl, gc.ca; Yvonne, Jones, A1@parl, gc.ca