

#### NEWFOUNDLAND AND LABRADOR BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF PUBLIC UTILITIES 120 Torbay Road, P.O. Box 21040, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada, A1A 5B2

2015-05-22

# **ELECTRONIC DISTRIBUTION**

# Newfoundland Power Inc.

Mr. Gerard Hayes 55 Kenmount Road P.O. Box 8910 St. John's, NL A1B 3P6 E-mail: ghayes@newfoundlandpower.com

#### Innu Nation

Ms. Nancy Kleer Olthuis, Kleer, Townshend LLP 229 College Street, 3rd Floor Toronto, ON M5T 1R4 E-mail: nkleer@oktlaw.com

# Vale Newfoundland and Labrador Limited

Mr. Thomas O'Reilly, OC Cox & Palmer Scotia Centre, Suite 1000 235 Water Street St. John's, NL A1C 1B6 E-mail: toreilly@coxandpalmer.com

# Yvonne Jones MP, Labrador

Ms. Yvonne Jones, MP Labrador Ottawa Confederation Building, Room 682 Ottawa, ON K1A 0A6 E-mail: Yvonne.Jones.A1@parl.gc.ca Yvonne.Jones.C1@parl.gc.ca

# **Consumer Advocate**

Mr. Thomas Johnson O'Dea Earle 323 Duckworth Street P.O. Box 5955 St. John's, NL A1C 5X4 E-mail: tjohnson@odeaearle.ca

# Industrial Customer Group

Mr. Paul Coxworthy Stewart McKelvey Stirling Scales Cabot Place, 100 New Gower Street P.O. Box 5038 St. John's, NL A1C 5V3 E-mail: pcoxworthy@stewartmckelvey.com

#### Towns of Labrador City, Wabush, Happy Valley-Goose Bay and North West River

Mr. Dennis Browne on behalf of Mr Edward Hearn, OC Browne Fitzgerald Morgan & Avis P.O. Box 23135 Terrace on the Square St. John's, NL A1B 4J9 E-mail: dbrowne@bfma-law.com

# Nunatsiavut Government

Ms. Genevieve Dawson Suite 900 Atlantic Place Water Street, P.O. Box 1538 St. John's, NL A1C 5N8 E-mail: gdawson@bensonbuffett.com

Dear Sirs/Madams:

#### Re: Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro – Amended General Rate Application **Responses to Innu Nation's Requests for Information**

Please be advised that the Board received the attached correspondence from Hydro on May 21, 2015 requesting to move the date for responses to certain Requests for Information filed by Innu Nation to June 12, 2015.

The Board notes that the new response date is subsequent to the scheduled date for filing of expert reports. Moving the date for responses may require establishing a separate time line for the expert reports to be filed by Innu Nation.

The Board requests that any comments related to the request from Hydro to move the response date and possibly establishing a separate time line for expert reports of Innu Nation should be submitted to the Board by 3:00 p.m., Tuesday, May 26, 2015.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact the Board's Legal Counsel, Ms. Jacqui Glynn, by email, jglynn@pub.nl.ca or telephone (709) 726-6781.

Yours truly,

Kean

Assistant Board Secretary

/bds Encl.

e.c.c. Newfoundland & Labrador Hydro Mr. Geoff Young, E-mail: gyoung@nlh.nl.ca Mr. Fred Cass, E-mail: fcass@airdberlis.com Newfoundland Power Inc. Mr. Liam O'Brien, E-mail: lobrien@curtisdawe.nf.ca Consumer Advocate Ms. Colleen Lacey, E-mail: clacey@odeaearle.ca Mr. Doug Bowman, E-mail: cdbowman@netzero.net Industrial Customer Group Mr. Dean Porter, E-mail: dporter@pa-law.ca Vale Newfoundland and Labrador Limited Mr. Denis Fleming, E-mail: dfleming@coxandpalmer.com Towns of Labrador City, Wabush, Happy Valley-Goose Bay and North West River Mr. Edward Hearn Q.C., E-mail: miller&hearn@errstv.net Ms. Melanie Dawe, E-mail: mdawe@bfma-law.com Innu Nation Mr. Senwung Luk, E-mail: sluk@oktlaw.com Nunatsiavut Government Mr. Tom Sheldon, E-mail: tom sheldon@nunatsiavut.com Ms. Christina Goldhar, E-mail: christina goldhar@nunatsiavut.com Mr. Christopher Henderson, E-mail: chenderson@lumosenergy.com



Hydro Place. 500 Columbus Drive. P.O. Box 12400. St. John's. NL Canada A1B 4K7 t. 709.737.1400 f. 709.737.1800 www.nlh.nl.ca

May 21, 2015

The Board of Commissioners of Public Utilities Prince Charles Building 120 Torbay Road, P.O. Box 21040 St. John's, Newfoundland & Labrador A1A 5B2

# Attention: Ms. Cheryl Blundon Director Corporate Services & Board Secretary

Dear Ms. Blundon:

#### Re: Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro – 2013 General Rate Application Responses to Innu Nation's Requests for Information

This is further to the Board's letter of May 8, 2015 regarding Hydro's responses to certain Requests for Information (RFI) from the Innu Nation (IN-NLH-312, IN-NLH-314, IN-NLH-315, IN-NLH-316 and similarly IN-NLH-317).

The RFIs in question specifically require Hydro to review a very large amount of archived material to identify a large body of correspondence and documentation which was generated more than 10 years ago. This review is complicated by the fact that almost all of the people who were involved in the matter at that time are no longer employed by Hydro. Completing this review and identifying the information required for the responses to these RFIs is underway but will likely take an additional number of weeks. The issues that appear to be engaged in these RFIs are not, in Hydro's opinion, amongst those that pertain directly to costs or rate setting issue that affect other matters or parties in the GRA, therefore, they are not in the critical path of information required to inform most of the parties in this proceeding. Hydro therefore requests that the target date to respond to these RFIs be moved to June 12, 2015.

Yours truly,

# NEWFOUNDLAND AND LABRADOR HYDRO

Géoffrev P. Young enior Legal Courisel

GPY/jc

cc: Gerard Hayes – Newfoundland Power Paul Coxworthy – Stewart McKelvey Stirling Scales Thomas J. O'Rellly, Q.C. – Cox & Palmer Dennis Browne, Q.C. – Browne Fitzgerald Morgan & Avis Thomas Johnson – Consumer Advocate Yvonne Jones, MP Labrador Senwung Luk – Olthuis, Kleer, Townshend LLP Genevieve M. Dawson – Benson Buffett