

NEWFOUNDLAND AND LABRADOR

BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF PUBLIC UTILITIES

120 Torbay Road, P.O. Box 21040, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada, A1A 5B2

2014-12-04

ELECTRONIC DISTRIBUTION

Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro

Mr. Geoffrey Young P. O. Box 12400 Hydro Place, Columbus Drive St. John's, NL A1B 4K7 E-mail: gyoung@nlh.nl.ca

Consumer Advocate

Mr. Paul Coxworthy

Mr. Thomas Johnson
O'Dea Earle
323 Duckworth Street
P.O. Box 5955
St. John's, NL A1C 5X4
E-mail: tjohnson@odeaearle.ca

Island Industrial Customers Group

Stewart McKelvey Stirling Scales Cabot Place, 100 New Gower Street P.O. Box 5038 St. John's, NL A1C 5V3 E-mail: pcoxworthy@stewartmckelvey.com

Towns of Labrador City, Wabush, Happy Valley-Goose Bay and North West River

Mr. Edward Hearn, QC Miller & Hearn 450 Avalon Drive P.O. Box 129 Labrador City, NL A2V 2K3 E-mail: miller&hearn@crrstv.net

Newfoundland Power Inc.

Mr. Gerard Hayes
55 Kenmount Road
P.O. Box 8910
St. John's, NL A1B 3P6
E-mail; ghayes@newfoundlandpower.com

Innu Nation

Ms. Nancy Kleer
Olthuis, Kleer, Townshend LLP
229 College Street, 3rd Floor
Toronto, ON M5T 1R4
E-mail: nkleer@oktlaw.com

Vale Newfoundland and Labrador Limited

Mr. Thomas O'Reilly, QC Cox & Palmer Scotia Centre, Suite 1000 235 Water Street St. John's, NL A1C 1B6 E-mail: toreilly@coxandpalmer.com

Yvonne Jones MP, Labrador

Yvonne Jones, MP Labrador Ottawa Confederation Building, Room 682 Ottawa, ON K1A 0A6 E-mail: Yvonne.Jones.A1@parl.gc.ca Yvonne.Jones.C1@parl.gc.ca

Dear Sirs/Madams:

Re: Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro – Amended General Rate Application - Island Industrial Customer rates, effective January 1, 2015

Hydro filed an amended general rate application on November 10, 2014 requesting, among other things, an Order of the Board approving revised interim Island Industrial customer rates

and RSP rules effective January 1, 2015. The Island Industrial customers were provided direct notice of this application.

The Board would normally proceed to establish a schedule for requests for information and the filing of additional evidence and submissions before issuing its decision. However, based on correspondence from Hydro, dated November 28, 2014, it is clear that Hydro is seeking early consideration of the proposed rates and rule changes to allow for the implementation of any changes effective January 1, 2015. Given the proposed effective date, the process for the review of this application must be compressed and there will be no requests for information or filing of additional evidence. The application will be considered based on the evidence filed by Hydro and any submissions which may be filed.

The Board requests submissions by Thursday, December 11, 2014. In addition to any other areas of interest, the Board asks that submissions address whether Hydro's proposals are consistent with the government direction in OC2013-089.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact the Board's Legal Counsel, Ms. Jacqui Glynn, by email, jgylnn@pub.nl.ca or telephone (709) 726-6781.

Yours truly,

Cheryl Blundon Board Secretary

/bds Encl.

e.c.c. Newfoundland & Labrador Hydro

Mr. Fred Cass, E-mail: fcass@airdberlis.com

Newfoundland Power Inc.

Mr. Liam O'Brien, E-mail: lobrien@curtisdawe.nf.ca

Consumer Advocate

Ms. Colleen Lacey, E-mail: clacey@odeaearle.ca

Mr. Doug Bowman, E-mail: cdbowman@netzero.net

Island Industrial Customers Group

Mr. Dean Porter, E-mail: dporter@pa-law.ca

Yale Newfoundland and Labrador Limited

Mr. Denis Fleming, E-mail: dfleming@coxandpalmer.com

Innu Nation

Mr. Senwung Luk, E-mail; sluk@oktlaw.com

Serco Canada Inc. 5 Wing Goose Bay

Mr. Robert Pilgrim, E-mail: rob.pilgrim@serco.na.com

Nunatsiavut Government

Mr. Tom Sheldon, E-mail: tom_sheldon@nunatsiavut.com